Author Topic: SPI isolation using optocouplers  (Read 17259 times)

Offline void_errorTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
SPI isolation using optocouplers
« on: October 18, 2014, 10:28:01 am »
Title pretty much says it.

After searching the web for ways of electrically isolating the SPI bus (the part with ADCs & DACs) which is part of my bench power supply I found a few rather hard to get specialized chips. I need the isolation because I'm going to have a USB connection to the PC (one that's built into the microcontroller, not going for FTDI) and the PSU itself will be floating.

As LED-phototransistor optocouplers are cheap that's my first option, but I'll need to find a way to tri-state them, probably using the chip select signal. Can it be done?
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline bobcat

• Regular Contributor
Re: SPI isolation using optocouplers
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2014, 10:39:51 am »
Thats the way to do it. Just add another coupler for the CS and use it to drive the enable on a three state buffer.

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2014, 10:54:18 am »
Any recommendation for a common tri-state buffer? I could also go with a multiplexer I suppose. It has to be on the microcontroller side though which is not a problem.

EDIT: Nevermind, found a 74HCT125. Output enable active low.
« Last Edit: October 18, 2014, 10:57:26 am by void_error »

Offline bobcat

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2014, 10:58:56 am »
device selection is not critical, just as long as it is speed and voltage rated for your application.

Offline macboy

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2014, 01:32:02 pm »
... I need the isolation because I'm going to have a USB connection to the PC (one that's built into the microcontroller, not going for FTDI) and the PSU itself will be floating.