Author Topic: Stereo microscope - setting up the angles of the eyepieces, having problems  (Read 2425 times)

Offline SolderSuckerTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
So I've just taken delivery of an AmScope, but despite doing some reading and watching assorted videos I just cannot seem to set things up perfectly.

Naturally I've set up the angles of the eyepieces as best as I can, but when I'm looking at a PCB it's annoying that even though the image is perfectly in focus I just can't get a really clear view due to the areas of darkness that I see either side with any kind of head movement (left, right, up or down). There's also overlapping mostly transparent dark rings which are obviously the eyepieces and due to the the angle of my eyes and head.

I'm using a Barlow 0.5x lens if that helps.

And yes, this is my first time using a stereo microscope (as if you hadn't guessed already).

Any ideas please what I'm doing wrong, or is what I'm experiencing perfectly normal for a stereo microscope with a 0.5x Barlow lens?

Offline Bud

• Super Contributor
I have an amscope but do not experience problems with overshadowing when touching the eyepieces rubber boots, however i am having a problem with one of the prisms in the optical path and i figured out that much depends on alignment of the prism assemblies, which are inside the scope casing. Possibly yours was not properly aligned? If you have warranty you may ask them to check it. There is a engineering term for it but i can't remember what it is called.

Edit: I too have a x0.5 lens installed
« Last Edit: December 17, 2018, 07:21:12 pm by Bud »
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.

The following users thanked this post: SolderSucker

Offline Fred27

• Supporter
    • Fred's blog
I found that it took a bit of getting used to the eye position when using a stereo microscope for the first time.

Offline schmitt trigger

• Super Contributor
My personal experience: