Author Topic: Switching voltage regulator design output voltage issue  (Read 7054 times)

Offline dominicMTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
    • DominicM
Switching voltage regulator design output voltage issue
« on: August 21, 2014, 03:08:17 am »
I am new to switching regulators and relatively new to electronics in general. I am having an issue with a regulator I designed.

I tested it with a battery input (7.2V) and DC adapter (16V). I get output voltage of just 350mV instead of the expected 5V. There is also a quiet noise when powered. At one point I had forgotten to order a shottkey diode so I tried powering it on without it. I got the expected 5.03V output thought it became unstable at about 7 to 9V range (DC adapter slowly discharging after AC loss). I went and ordered the missing part but now getting the issue describer above.

Here is the schematic:

And here's the PCB:

What could my error be?
« Last Edit: August 21, 2014, 03:09:51 am by dominicM »

Offline DanielS

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Switching voltage regulator design output voltage issue
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2014, 03:50:58 am »
By running your circuit without the schottky diode to clamp the inductor's free-wheeling current, you may have busted your PWM. It "worked fine until 7-9V" only because the there was not enough stored energy in the inductor to kill your regulator before then.

Put the Schottky in, replace your regulator and assuming your circuit is wired correctly, it should work since you are using the reference design as-is.

Offline georges80

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2014, 04:07:33 am »
Yep, the schottky is there to clamp the SW node from going negative. Without it you have most likely destroyed the SW output of the switcher IC.