Author Topic: Tektronix 7A13, technical questions  (Read 2067 times)

Offline PartialDischargeTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Tektronix 7A13, technical questions
« on: July 17, 2018, 06:57:28 pm »
I'm currently studying the inner workings of some Tek 7000 plugins and since I'm missing a big thread about these great pieces of technology I'll start with one about the 7A13.

To the point, question 1) It did strike me the AC coupling capacitor at the BNCs, as it has a big metallic body, the input is soldered right there, where I expect this point to be critical in parasitic capacitance, maybe it has to do with the fact that both input capacitors in CH1 and CH2 must be closely matched. Picture and schematic:

The second question relates to the first amplifier stage where according to the manual NPN Q152 is used as a switch, in a saturated state. Could they have used a JFET instead and why they didn't?

« Last Edit: July 17, 2018, 06:59:53 pm by MasterTech »

Offline Wimberleytech

• Super Contributor
Re: Tektronix 7A13, technical questions
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2018, 10:48:49 pm »
I will hazard this guess.
The dimensions of the cap were dictated by capacity and voltage (and perhaps ESR).
The cavity where it fits and connects to the switches with shortest possible trace (minimize inductance, etc.) forced the odd orientation and connection.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2018, 11:49:13 pm »
1) It did strike me the AC coupling capacitor at the BNCs, as it has a big metallic body, the input is soldered right there, where I expect this point to be critical in parasitic capacitance, maybe it has to do with the fact that both input capacitors in CH1 and CH2 must be closely matched.