Author Topic: Tips for DIY audio mixer  (Read 11658 times)

Offline grogantechTopic starter

• Contributor
Tips for DIY audio mixer
« on: February 01, 2017, 09:03:27 pm »
Hi all,
I am fairly new to audio electronics, however I have decided to take on a rather ambitious project. I am looking into building a 4 channel analog audio mixer. These are the rough specs for now:
  • 4 mono channels
  • 3 band EQ per channel
  • Mic preamp on each channel
  • Fade and pan
  • Stereo VU meter
I am not going to bother with phantom power supply as I am unlikely to use condenser microphones, neither will I include auxiliary busses.
I am interested in the opinion of any sound/electrical engineer is who have done similar projects to this and if they may have tips for a beginner. Let me know what you think of the specs and if you have any recommended parts, circuits etc.
Any help will be much appreciated.
Thanks,
James

Offline calexanian

• Super Contributor
    • Alex-Tronix
Re: Tips for DIY audio mixer
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2017, 10:50:52 pm »
What style of construction do you want and what level of presentation do you want to achieve? Is this just a throw together for learning purposes or would you like to make something professional looking as a project sort of thing? Would you like to lay out a PCB and 3d print a nice case or vero board flying wires and a scrap aluminum panel sort of thing? Or no front panel and make everything tiny on a PCB and silk screen everything onto that?
Charles Alexanian
Alex-Tronix Control Systems

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2017, 10:54:22 pm »
 I am looking for a relatively well presented project and I will be getting custom PCBs and will make the case with sheet metal by hand.

Offline law_freak

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2017, 11:14:45 pm »
I've used a few of the circuits here to good effect.

I think you will find most of what you need there.
mixer
3-band eq
pre