Author Topic: Toner Transfer  (Read 6888 times)

Offline BradCTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Toner Transfer
« on: October 16, 2018, 03:36:18 pm »
Ok, so I've been doing toner transfer PCBs for a few years now. I have a great HP2200d on my desk that serves double duty as a general purpose monochrome office printer, and when required I pull the gold-plated genuine HP toner cartridge out of the zip-loc bag and use it for toner transfer.

The *problem* is that these cartridges last about 5 years *tops* before the wiper blade takes a set and I get ghosting on the images. I've put up with this because it meant I only had to buy a new HP cart every 5 years and the whole thing is so damn reliable.

Now, I'm due a new cart due to ghosting (I can make a board, but it can only be smaller than about 8cm as that is roughly the drum circumference) and find the clusterfuck that is now HP (thanks Carly _there_really_are_no_words_for_how_I_feel_about_this_oxygen_theif_ Fiorina) has actually discontinued the cartridge. Experience says that cheap toner doesn't transfer as well (I can do 8/8 down to 6/6 with the genuine HP toner and Puslar paper). So I'm a bit up the creek without a (paddle/outboard/jet) right now.

So, what I'm looking for is a recommendation for a printer that does awesome toner transfer, has a reliable supply of genuine toner, a 500 sheet feeder + duplexer and costs fuck all (my 2200d+feeder was less than $50). A big ask? Maybe.

But seriously, let's take cost off the table. Does anyone have any recommendations? The 2200d makes an awesome office printer as I have a complete spare unit for parts, a full service manual and the office grade toner is 0.6c per page so it costs nothing to run. If I had to buy a dedicated "board only" printer for the 10 times a year I make boards, I'd figure something out and slide it past the wife.