Author Topic: USB KILLER V3 reverse engineering in progress UPDATED  (Read 23347 times)

Offline Parrot974Topic starter

• Contributor
USB KILLER V3 reverse engineering in progress UPDATED
« on: July 27, 2017, 08:56:47 pm »
Hello,

I decided to reverse engineer a quite interesting thing which is the USB Killer V3. I don't intend to do anything wrong with it, it is just something interesting and easy to reverse engineer since I'm a beginner.

After some research, all I found out about this thing is some pictures of the PCB and a partial list of the components so I decided to buy one in order to reverse engineer it.
I managed to unsolder all the components properly so I could extract the schematic out of it.
Here are the pictures where you can see clearly the PCB and the components:

USBKCMD" border="0
USBKCMDOK" border="0
USBKPWR" border="0
USBPWROK" border="0
<a target='_blank' href='https://fr.imgbb.com/'>picture hosting[/url]

Here is also the uncomplete schematic:

schema_USBK" border="0
<a target='_blank' href='https://fr.imgbb.com/'>picture hosting[/url]

IC3 is an SOT323 Package, sorry about the confusion, Pin 5 is non existing

I identified some of the electric components like a Mosfet, what can possibly be a Mosfet driver but not much more. I think the transformer is a flyback transformer so the  IC3 is either a flyback boost converter or a dedicated Xenon Flash Capactitor Charger (which is more or less the same I guess)

For the Transformer, I measured 5 Ohm at the primary and 40 Ohm at the secondary. For its inductance, I have a LCR meter but without knowing the hysteresis of the core, I’m not sure it is worth measuring it.

I understand the flyback converter principle but the thing I don’t understand is how can the capacitors discharge into the data line only once they are fully charged and not before.
All the main components have been filed with what appears to be a CNC to prevent anyone to read a reference.