Author Topic: VFD filament power using LM4871 replacement for obsolete LM9022  (Read 13153 times)

Offline leonababyTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Newbie here.

I am curious if anyone has used or would comment on using one of these bridge amplifiers to drive a 6-digit VFD clock's filaments.  The 9022 was essentially a re-badged 4871 as I understand it, marketed at a VFD driver.  The 4871 was designed to be an audio amplifier - therefore, a good match for driving filaments (low impedance, AC).  Datasheet of VFD driver-marketed version: https://datasheet.octopart.com/LM9022M/NOPB-National-Semiconductor-datasheet-11896945.pdf

The 9022 datasheet includes a sample application in which the chip self-oscillates and creates a square wave from 0.15V to 4.85V with a single 5V supply, but the supply can go down to 2V.  For all the VFD's I am looking at, I need about 2V rms so this looks supremely applicable - with the possible exception that for a 5V supply I may have to drop a half volt with a series resistor.

I tripped across the 9022 while researching h bridge motor controllers for the same purpose.  I was concerned about using an h bridge, because I don't fully understand it and was not sure it some of the warnings about momentary simultaneous "on" states of various elements applies for driving VFD filaments.  I saw one person use an h bridge made of 4 BJTs, with no protection, but I couldn't see his timing since he drove the two sides with a uC.  I am not using a uC, so I am restricted to logic and transistors.  Another used an LV8405V h bridge chip, but he didn't show his schematic and it is designed for a motor.  I was afraid of trying to use it since I don't understand it.