Author Topic: What are my options for a product idea with BGA breakout and DDR3 layout?  (Read 4534 times)

Offline InterestedTomTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Hi,

I am a soon to graduate Electronic Engineering MEng Student. I have an idea to bring up to date and improve an existing product idea with modern components and design tools etc.

I am at the stage of prototyping with development boards and doing initial component selection for the main constituent parts i.e. ADC, DAC, FPGA/CPU/SoC. But after having completed and verified my initial soft-hardware and software design and selection I would like to move into small quantity prototyping of a design with a view to progressing towards a marketable test and measurement product.

The FPGA/CPU/SoC will be in a BGA package and have on board DDR3, there will also be a 7" to 10" display with as high a resolution as is likely to be sensible. What are my options when it comes to designing a PCB or having a PCB designed?

I am based in the South East of England.

Offline mikeselectricstuff

• Super Contributor
    • Mike's Electric Stuff
Re: What are my options for a product idea with BGA breakout and DDR3 layout?
« Reply #1 on: September 18, 2017, 12:22:03 pm »
Start with a devboard that already has most/all of the hardware on it. That way you can develop on a known-good hardware platform before moving to something more customised.

Youtube channel:Taking wierd stuff apart. Very apart.
Mike's Electric Stuff: High voltage, vintage electronics etc.
Day Job: Mostly LEDs

The following users thanked this post: InterestedTom

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2017, 01:17:53 pm »
Got one already. Designed a little DAC/ADC board which I am still to solder. But from then I can slowly progress with the soft-hardware design and software design until I have implemented all the features I want or run out of room in the FPGA.