Author Topic: What caused this 400W H-bridge to burn!  (Read 11952 times)

Offline ali_asadzadehTopic starter

• Super Contributor
What caused this 400W H-bridge to burn!
« on: September 24, 2017, 09:43:27 am »
Hi,
I'm working on this 400W 24v DC motor Controller, everything was ok with 50% PWM, until I tried a 10% PWM on the Motor, It burnt one side of the H-bridge, This is the Schematics and PWM frequency is 64KHz

ASiDesigner, Stands for Application specific intelligent devices
I'm a Digital Expert from 8-bits to 64-bits

Offline nctnico

• Super Contributor
    • NCT Developments
Re: What caused this 400W H-bridge to burn!
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2017, 10:44:45 am »
At 64kHz you need a real H bridge driver. This circuit is way too slow. But... you might want to choose a lower frequency like a couple of hundred Hertz otherwise you are heating the copper instead of driving current through it.
There are small lies, big lies and then there is what is on the screen of your oscilloscope.

Offline Benta

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2017, 11:53:16 am »
The circuit as such is fine. The upper side drivers are slow, yes, but that's not really important, they are being driven statically for direction control, only the lower side switches are PWMing.

On a related note: which motor will accept 64 kHz switching? My experience with normal PMDC motors is, that at switching frequencies above 3..4 kHz you'll have enormous losses in the motor, to the extent that it won't even turn.

Offline H.O

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 24, 2017, 12:24:15 pm »
64kHz seems high on such a large motor, I'd think it's got enough inductance to keep the ripple current at managable levels. IME around 20kHz is a fairly commom switching frequency but I know drives from Maxon that are using 50kHz but their line of motors are generally very low inductance. I'm curious what size motors are using 3-4kHz switching frequency, must be very big ones.