Author Topic: How does a pallet jack work?  (Read 6005 times)

Offline o0Julian0oTopic starter

How does a pallet jack work?
« on: October 31, 2014, 03:32:47 pm »
Hi guys,
Yes I am a total noob when it comes to these things, also, I have nobody to explain it to me so I thought I'd ask here.

How does an automated pallet jack work? I mean, the whole assist with movement. I've seen some which like, know when you are trying to pull on the jack etc. Same thing with hydraulic power steering in cars. They're mechanical things right? No direct electronics operating...

I'm trying to figure out how I'd have to go about making something like a robotic arm, based on hydraulics or pneumatic, for my mum. She just went through breast cancer, and I thought that helping her out with everyday lifting tasks would be great, but since I'm at college most of the time, I can't. And that's where something like a robotic arm would be handy. heh, I probably sound like a 10 year old XD

I want to basically know how to make the pistons move accordingly to the requirement. So if I want to lift something up, the arm would kick in, and basically do the lifting for me.

Any help guys?

Offline dentaku

• Frequent Contributor
Re: How does a pallet jack work?
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2014, 05:18:54 pm »
If you look at any of these devices you'll see that they are very heavy.
Your mother will not be able to carry around anything strong enough to do any real useful work.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Powered_exoskeleton

Offline N2IXK

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 31, 2014, 05:24:28 pm »
Both pallet jacks and power steering systems are hydraulic systems. A typical design choice when a whole lot of force is required in a limited space.

Hydraulics can be controlled electronically via servovalves and feedback transducers to sense position, force, and fluid pressure.
"My favorite programming language is...SOLDER!"--Robert A. Pease

Offline Richard Crowley

• Super Contributor