Author Topic: Which material is used in flex PCB circuits ?  (Read 2275 times)

Offline Sai tejaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Which material is used in flex PCB circuits ?
« on: May 15, 2018, 07:06:42 am »
Hello,
We are planning to use flexible PCB circuit in our application. Can anyone please suggest the material used in flexible PCBs ? We are looking for the flex PCB material similar to the one used in Olympus Stylus camera. I am attaching the image for your reference.

we are looking for the material which does not break on bending sharply.

Please help me in this regard.

Offline tooki

• Super Contributor
Re: Which material is used in flex PCB circuits ?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2018, 07:15:13 am »
Isn’t that Kapton (polyimide)?

Offline Sai tejaTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2018, 07:24:14 am »
I am new to this field. Please give me suggestions regarding the material. Our objective is to use material which is more flexible and doesn't break even on bending sharply.

Offline timpattinson

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2018, 06:57:15 am »
Please give me suggestions regarding the material.
Isn’t that Kapton (polyimide)?

The following users thanked this post: David Chamberlain, tooki

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2018, 09:53:08 am »
Most flex pcbs usevarious thicknesses of  kapton, because its thin, heat resistant and is resistant to stretching.

The bend radius is what you will need to figure out. The thinner the copper and kapton, the more flexible and tighter the radius can be without deformation.

However this makes it easier to tear and cant carry as much current

If you hard fold one of those cables you risk thermal cycling creating an intermittent connection later on if the copper is on the outside of the tape. Inside of the tape may face delamination
« Last Edit: May 16, 2018, 09:59:09 am by Rerouter »

Offline sleemanj