Author Topic: Wiring Standards  (Read 9201 times)

Offline mttee2Topic starter

• Contributor
Wiring Standards
« on: January 10, 2010, 06:03:53 am »
I am given a task to convert a Machine's Switchboard from Relays to PLC and improve it's performance. I am still new in this field and facing some high amps motors.
  I searched google and only received brief explaination on wiring standards not how to choose the right wire size. What is the safety factor practiced? At what temperature the copper wire will melt? What is the resistivity on standard copper wire?  ???
« Last Edit: January 10, 2010, 06:07:05 am by mttee2 »

GeekGirl

Re: Wiring Standards
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2010, 07:45:34 am »
Any decent rule book (in Au we use the AS3000) for wiring in structural systems eg house, office etc.

For in equipment wiring you really need to look at the cable charts for the cable you wish to use, as the current capacity is not derated (as it is for structural).

All suppliers have a brochure (some even have pdf's on their site) that lists the ratings of the cable, it may be able to handle say 100A but if you need UL compliance then it may only do 80A etc.

If you need a very low voltage drop then you will need a larger cable than otherwise needed for the current capacity.

Offline Erik

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2010, 11:37:52 am »
Perhaps this site can give you some information:

http://www.powerstream.com/Wire_Size.htm

Offline Simon

• Global Moderator
  • Did that just blow up? No? might work after all !!
    • Simon's Electronics
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2010, 01:01:16 pm »
if your lookig to play very safe and have it last years go for 5-8 A/mm2

Online Zero999

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2010, 06:16:48 pm »
Deciding the crossectional area for a high current cable isn't always easy.