Author Topic: x100 Gen Purpose Amp for lab use, 1st attempt.  (Read 1216 times)

Offline InsatmanTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
x100 Gen Purpose Amp for lab use, 1st attempt.
« on: February 20, 2018, 04:39:44 am »
Hello,  I set about building an x100 amplifier mainly to measure noise on power supplies where my scope runs into the noise floor.   This is my first attempt.   Bandwidth is -3dB at 185kHz.  I hope to improve this by using a better op-amp on order from Digikey.   Noise floor with the input terminated 50ohm is about 2mV pk-pk.  This could be general noise from my lab, the scope or the cheap cable I used as well as the op-amp.  Nevertheless, this equates to roughly 20uV on the input, meaning the amp is only useful for ~100uV of noise or above without averaging.   A low-pass filter of ~90kHz was built into the unit and can be switched in and out using a toggle switch.  The filter is an active type using two sections of the quad-op-amp.   The noise floor is significantly higher when the filter in on, which surprised me.   I intend to play with the circuit and see if this can be improved.  Your comments, questions and advice are solicited.
« Last Edit: February 20, 2018, 06:29:13 am by Insatman »
Retired Pulsed Power Engineer/Physicist...now I just dabble in electronics

The following users thanked this post: daqq

Online PartialDischarge

• Super Contributor
Re: x100 Gen Purpose Amp for lab use, 1st attempt.
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2018, 06:21:50 am »
Very nice project. For this application im fortunate enough to own a 7104 with a 7A22 plugin :)

Offline InsatmanTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Re: x100 Gen Purpose Amp for lab use, 1st attempt.
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2018, 07:12:59 am »
Very nice project. For this application im fortunate enough to own a 7104 with a 7A22 plugin :)