Author Topic: Hi guys! Need help choosing the right battery type for my solar powered project.  (Read 1690 times)

Offline laban93Topic starter

• Contributor
It's my first post, sorry if it' s in the wrong place.
I've started a project where i'm powering a screen which draws around 260mA. I'm trying to make it solar powered, and therefore i need some batteries to power it during the night. It's supposed to be on 24/7.
I'm trying to place the batteries inside a 2 inch pole prefereably.
I'm quite new to this, but thinking  lithium ion 18560 batteries would be a possibilety.
Does anyone have some suggestions for me about which ones would fit my project?
-Simon

Sent fra min SM-G935F via Tapatalk

HEAVEN - A place full of everything you get sent to hell for.

Offline splin

• Frequent Contributor
The required battery capacity will depend on a) load, b) solar panel output and c) amount of solar insolation - in the north of the UK for example, the solar panel may, in exceptional circumstances, provide almost no energy for 6 consecutive days or more. An excellent resource to help estimate solar insolation at a given site, if you are located in Europe or Africa, is: http://re.jrc.ec.europa.eu/pvgis/apps4/pvest.php#

Select your location then select the 'Stand-alone PV' tab. Then you can try various combinations of panel and battery sizes. It is geared to large systems so multiply all your numbers by 1000. Assuming your load is 260mA at 3.3V, enter daily consumption as 20592Wh (260 x 3.3 x 24). Enter 0 for battery discharge cutoff limit (meaning 100% maximum discharge).