Author Topic: Price Point of lifepo4 batterys.  (Read 19006 times)

Offline hendorog

• Super Contributor
Re: Price Point of lifepo4 batterys.
« Reply #50 on: June 04, 2018, 03:48:17 am »
Is your spot price list for your network node? I think that is important as I think the price for each node can go up due to local effects as well as regional and national effects.

So if its just a regional price then you might be missing some spikes.

I'm no power expert though.

Offline mrpacketheadTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • D Size Cell
« Reply #51 on: June 04, 2018, 06:33:04 am »
Its the actual price paid at my location.
On a quest to find increasingly complicated ways to blink things

Online NorthGuy

• Super Contributor
« Reply #52 on: June 05, 2018, 12:17:45 am »
Conclusion: putting a battery in byitself to round off the peak power prices, has negetive economic benefit.

And you haven't even factored in Inverter/Charger losses.

The following users thanked this post: mrpackethead

• Super Contributor
  • D Size Cell
« Reply #53 on: June 05, 2018, 02:53:30 am »
I had included them in the life time of the battery, but had'nt added the energy cost for the 'lost' energy. Its almost a moot point, becuase there is'tn much of a way of paying for it.

As a bit of an exercise i wondered what would happen if i moved the point at which i cut over to batterys higher, so i only chopped off the more expensive peaks.  As you can see from teh histogram those just get less and less, and even though you need a smaller battery, the payback doe'snt get any better.

I need to remodel this with solar, which i expect will actually change the game plan.    Since i have my actual historical data of useage and the actual pricing, i probably can model this quite well. My gut feeling is that with solar i might be slightly up, but not so much that it would be worth the effort to do.

Offline hendorog

• Super Contributor
« Reply #54 on: June 05, 2018, 06:26:56 am »