Author Topic: regarding solar and battery systems for renewable based system  (Read 1952 times)

Offline msrinivasan1995Topic starter

• Contributor
    As Elon Musk said that he can power South Australia upto 100MW, What will he use for Battery storage. LI-ion batteries? They will have maximum of 1000 cycles of working, after that do we need to keep on changing the battery system,isnt it costly? My general doubt is that how batteries can replace traditional grid system as batteries working cycle must also be considered as a fact? Wont it result in much more high cost for developing such plants. Enlighten me in this topic? sorry if the question is silly as I'm new to this field.

Online Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: regarding solar and battery systems for renewable based system
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2017, 07:46:02 am »
Lithium batteries aren't the only technology available for stationary applications. e.g. Edison NiFe cells - can have a 50 year lifespan with a small amount of maintenance.

Offline msrinivasan1995Topic starter

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2017, 07:56:25 am »
But tesla uses Li-Ion right? My major doubt is such kind of battery technologies are feasible for long term like our Power distributed stations.

Offline Codebird

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2017, 12:02:59 pm »
Tesla uses li-ion, but for this application you want something like LiFePo4. Expensive, certainly - but also similar enough to conventional li-ion that the existing Tesla production lines should be able to churn them out without too much alteration.

Or you could do it old-school. After all, weight and size are no object - what's to stop you from just using a heap of lead-acids? Really cheap, very long life, and when they do wear out they are highly recyclable.

Offline bazza

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2017, 02:02:23 pm »
Elon Musk is the poster-boy for Big Energy.
"Grid-'til-the-grave"