Author Topic: Smartflower Solar Power System  (Read 3489 times)

Offline oldnewbTopic starter

• Contributor
Smartflower Solar Power System
« on: March 27, 2017, 08:08:12 pm »
Came across this in my Internet travels: https://www.smartflowerpacific.com/

I'm skeptical that the additional mechanical complexity of a "Smartflower" comes close to paying for itself in terms of increased power production, but I'm no solar expert.  I'm interested in hearing the opinions of those with more solar experience.

Offline Codebird

• Regular Contributor
Re: Smartflower Solar Power System
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2017, 08:31:00 am »
That thing looks ridiculously complicated.

Tracking solar panels do have substantially higher productivity - but all you need for that is a simple pivot and an actuator. Maybe two pivots and two actuators if you want to do tracking in both dimensions. That... thing... it's just got far too many moving parts. It's going to cost a fortune, and break down far too often.

Offline Red Squirrel

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2017, 03:18:02 am »