Author Topic: Use 240V household type MCBs in low voltage circuit?  (Read 11307 times)

Offline WA1ICI

• Contributor
    • One Electron
Re: Use 240V household type MCBs in low voltage circuit?
« Reply #25 on: April 30, 2017, 05:15:53 am »
I think this has been hashed-out successfully - use a breaker with a DC rating.  DC is harder to break, since there are no zero crossings to extinguish the arc.

However, I thought I would relate a relevant incident that happened at my first job at Intel, around 1978.  I was a design engineer on the 8089 I/O processor which followed the 8086 design by about a year. (It never became very successful, but the 8086 - that's another story).  At that time we prototyped microprocessors in a TTL breadboard to test & debug functionality before first silicon came back.  This was in the days before logic simulation.  I got called into the lab by the 8086 lab technician, who wanted me to look into a problem with the 8086 TTL breadboard.  This was built with multiple Augat wire-wrap boards that were mounted in a tall rack cabinet.  At the bottom of the cabinet was a shoe-box sized 5V 200A switching power supply with big (I guess about 8 gauge) insulated wires running to each Augat rack assembly.  The complaint was that the breadboard had stopped working.  Putting a scope on one of the bus lines showed a logic high of about 1.5V.  The VCC was about 3V.  As I was looking around for the problem, I started smelling something hot.  I looked down towards the power supply at the bottom and saw that the +5V wires coming up had no insulation (it was burned off) and were glowing a deep red color.  Tracing the problem, one of the +5V wires had shorted to the rack cabinet due to an over-enthusiastic cable clamp.  At the lowest rack position was a panel with a single household circuit breaker in line with the +5V, rated at 30A, if I remember correctly.  It was somewhat charred, but was otherwise happily passing hundreds of amps from the massively over-size