Author Topic: Is anyone familiar with the "Popstar750W" E-bike?  (Read 2451 times)

Offline elecdoniaTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Is anyone familiar with the "Popstar750W" E-bike?
« on: July 23, 2023, 07:21:52 pm »
A friend of mine recently acquired 2 of this model:  "Popstar 750W" E-bike. One runs. the other doesn't.

I'm a newbie when it comes to to E-bike technology. But I have years and years of electronic design/debugging/repair experience.
Now I want to learn about E-bikes. We live in a major midwestern state university town (45,000 students). Foreign college students routinely abandon items like E bikes when they graduate and leave town. That's where these came from.

Link to the brand:    https://scootstar.net/index.html

Battery packs are 48V 13Ah.

Motor controller:
    Rated 48V, 25A max, 12A nominal, 750W
    Under voltage protect: 39V +/-1V
    Drawing # LD-BGL-157-CG-6

Is this a decent quality E-bike?
This model is sold by dealers (not Amazon). Typical selling price is ~ USD $2k. So I don't think these are "cheapie" models.

I’m learning to be a leading-edge designer of trailing-edge technology.

Offline mzzj

• Super Contributor
Re: Is anyone familiar with the "Popstar750W" E-bike?
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2023, 09:06:48 am »
Not familiar with this particular model but these chinese bikes built around Bafang rear motor are dime in a dozen. Decent battery capacity and motor, othervise generic lowest-cost chinese junk.

If controller powers up start debugging from brake lever switches and throttle handle on/off switch. If no power start from battery and motor controller and their connectors.
Sorting out the problem should be pretty easy as you have two bikes to swap parts.   

Controller models and connectors are bit different for every make, model and yearly quarter but you should be able to re-wire about any Bafang 750W geared rear hub compatible motor controller to your bike if needed. 

The following users thanked this post: elecdonia