Author Topic: Agilent 54622A timing error + UPDATE problem came back  (Read 4267 times)

Online giosifTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Agilent 54622A timing error + UPDATE problem came back
« on: July 23, 2017, 10:50:50 am »
Hello,

It's been a while since my last "appearance" on the forum.
Recently, I happened to get my hands on an Agilent 54622A scope which was in a rather bad need of TLC.
So, I took it apart, gave it a thorough cleaning, put it back on and turned power on.
The scope booted fine and all looked ok.
I started playing with and, at some point, I also ran a self test, which completed ok.
Following that, I played with it even more, which included working inside the unit (e.g. replacing the fan, measuring power supply voltages, etc.), sometimes with the cover off and no additional fan (I had not gotten to that page in the manual, at the time).

Then, at some point, I decided to run a user calibration and, unfortunately, that ended in an error: Timeout oscillator.  :'(
Rather confused and a bit panicky, I subsequently ran the self test again and, this time, I got an error here too: Timing chip test failed.
Still, if I put in a signal in any of the two channels, all looks to be fine.
Looking in the service manual, I don't see any details on the errors you can get from the self test or the user cal processes, not to mention where to look for faults in case of a given error.

Anyone out there that could point me in the right direction, please?

Thanks!
« Last Edit: August 07, 2017, 11:10:01 pm by giosif »

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Agilent 54622A timing error
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2017, 07:42:14 pm »
Bump

Hoping someone can help me out with some information on this issue.

Offline alm

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 01, 2017, 08:07:50 pm »
The closest thing you will probably find to schematics is the HP 54600 CLIP which are for an older model. Maybe some parts of the block diagram and some sub-circuits are useful.