Author Topic: Apple Cinema Display 23' A1081  (Read 1383 times)

Offline SacoTopic starter

• Contributor
Apple Cinema Display 23' A1081
« on: March 30, 2018, 09:00:35 am »
Spent a couple minutes debating wether to ressuscitate this old topic about the exact same issue but decided to create a new one instead since it's more than 3 years old now.

I am also a beginner, trying to fix this for myself before taking the display to a shop, so please cope with me.

So the problem is the display does not turn on. None of the LEDs (the one on the front and the one on the PCB) turn on.

I have already checked the suggestions by Rasz on that old post and:

- Inductors (L1, L3, L4) are good
- Fuses are good (all that I could find).
- C5 (near the dual choke) reads 24.6V

- U3 is outputting 4.8V (according to specs it should be 4.9-5.1). Can I assume it is still acceptable?
- U4 has 0V on the input (and output too, of course).

- C30,C32,C33 (the 3 caps between the 2 big inductors) read 5V.

- C108, C109, C38, C39 (the caps near U4) read 0V.
- C20, C21 read 0V
- the LED reads 0V (duh)

Should I start taking out the caps and testing them, even if they all seem to be in good shape or is there anything more obvious I can check first?

Full picture of the board:

Gallery with close ups: https://imgur.com/gallery/LevHs

Online KhronX

• Frequent Contributor
    • Khron's Cave - Electronics Blog
Re: Apple Cinema Display 23' A1081
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2018, 09:35:29 am »
I'd kinda rather turn my attention to the power supply, than the control board. At least at first.

But if you insist on sticking to the logic board, it might be worth checking for voltages on the connector going to the keypad / power button.
Khron's Cave - Electronics - Audio - Teardowns - Mods - Repairs - Projects - Music - Rants - Shenanigans

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2018, 09:40:52 am »