Author Topic: Chinese Switched Mode Power Supply : To Repair, or Not to Repair?  (Read 7322 times)

Offline SnipTheCatTopic starter

• Supporter
Hi,

I would like some advice about repairing a power supply. I have heard many people (in real life) say that switched mode power supplies should not be repaired, that it is dangerous, and not worth the time/risk vs the cost to buy a new one. However I find it's a good learning exercise and it's a bit sad to throw it away if it can be repaired easily.

I'm not an electronic engineer, at the base I'm an IT guy (with professionnal experience in microcrocontrollers), and I have about 2 years of practical experience (hobby) in electronics.

I found this article which provides the schematics of my power supply, it's almost 100% identical except mine is 18V/30A has different power transistors and the clearance issue mentionned in the article seems to have been fixed on the PCB of my supply : http://imajeenyus.com/electronics/20151028_smps_variable_voltage/index.shtml

- How did my supply die:

I was using it to power a self made ZVS induction heater circuit (which works fine), the supply was outputting 19V/27A when there was an accidental short between 2 turns of the heating coil causing the drawn current to spike. The supply just stopped working (no bang, no smoke it just stopped), I thought it was in protection but it wasn't. After that the 220V power cables started overheating but the fuse didn't blow. (I realized later that the 220V cable I used, purchased locally, had tiny conductors and severely overheated at 3 places...). I retried with proper power cables (just in case the issue was in the cable) and there the fuse blown instantly.

- First inspection: