Author Topic: Crane Scale repair issues  (Read 2313 times)

Offline jerrykTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Crane Scale repair issues
« on: March 28, 2017, 11:16:05 pm »
I'm in the process of repairing an MSI 4300 2k crane scale.  It had a significant alkaline battery spill that caused damage to three IC's a some other components that as a result were shorted out.  All of the batter spill issues are resolved and new components have been installed and lucky me, it almost works with a couple of exceptions so far.  One is that three of the segments in the LCD display are dead or malfunctioning.  I have cleaned the circuit board pads with alcohol and made sure the locking tabs are secure and even when I attached the display.  There are two rows of 67 pads and two controllers running the display.  All pads are spotless and the rubber segment strips on the display both look clean without deformity.  I'm new at this hobby and am not sure my terms are correct but is there any way to test this display to see if the error is in the display or in the circuit board IC'c?

Thanks - Jerry

Offline Armadillo

• Super Contributor
Re: Crane Scale repair issues
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2017, 12:05:08 am »
Did you install the old strips the wrong way around. Try flipping the strip 180 degrees around [those old indents don't like new sitting]. Also those holding screws should not be too loose. Don't use brute force though.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: March 29, 2017, 01:04:13 am »