Author Topic: CRO Oscilloscope repair  (Read 2519 times)

Offline MrJackTopic starter

CRO Oscilloscope repair
« on: January 15, 2019, 09:12:14 pm »
Hi all,

New to the forum, shamelessly asking for help with my first post, please don't hate me! I'm just getting started with electronics, trying to learn more. I just brought my first oscilloscope, a Hitachi v-212 which I won for cheap from eBay, it was listed as untested but it was cheap and figured I could have a go at fixing it, as a bit of a learning experience.

It arrived and I really like it, I'm sure it's only a beginners scope but I have a thing for old school electronics. When it arrived channel one worked perfectly, but channel 2 seemed really compressed, existing entirely within two of the small divisions of the display, exactly as described in this post here:
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hitachi-v212-ch2-amplifier-problem/
I don't know if it's relevant but even the channel 2 vertical adjust could not move the line out of these two divisions.

I found the service manual here:
https://www.manualslib.com/manual/1171085/Hitachi-V-211.html#product-V-212
and concluded that since channel 1 worked fine it must be somewhere before the 'diode gate'. At this point I may have made my first mistake and opened it up to see if i could visually spot anything looking obviously wrong. Most people suggest replacing electrolytic caps but they all look great, suspiciously good in fact, as though they have been previously replaced. The circuitry is spread out over two boards, it seems roughly along the lines of horizontal deflection on one board and vertical on the other. I removed the board with all the input preamp circuits to check for bad solder points on the back and started checking resistor values with a multimeter (stupidly not taking the components off the board first, like I said im a beginner  :palm: ).