Author Topic: Dell K792N UPS- Battery Over Voltage  (Read 3276 times)

Offline GeneralkrauseTopic starter

Dell K792N UPS- Battery Over Voltage
« on: February 06, 2017, 07:56:19 am »
Two weeks ago, I managed to get a really good deal on this 1920 watt ups. It took about three days to arrive, and I wasn't able to use it until a week later, when the batteries were delivered. This ups is, from the outside, in decent condition. The only physical damage is a dent on the detachable front bezel. Upon powering up the ups for the first time, I got a very strange error.
Battery Over voltage. A pretty self-explanatory error. But, the issue is the batteries are indeed at the right voltage. I have confirmed this using two multi meters.
I delved deeper into the issue. In the measurements menu on the ups, this appeared.

Just, what? To clarify, this ups uses six 12 volt 9 ah batteries. The total input would be 72 volts. I am no electrician, but I'm pretty sure that its impossible for these batteries to do this.
I decided to rule out the batteries once and for all. I removed two of the six batteries, bringing the true voltage down to 48 volts. It still read the same thing: 90.3 volts and 24%.
I started up the UPS and removed the batteries entirely, and just to be sure, cleared all errors and checked the dynamic readings. The same thing: 90.3 volts and 24%
Confused, I decided to open up the UPS and see if something came unplugged in shipping. While all components seem intact and all wires seem fine. There was rust in many different places. Most of it was just on the chassis and not on the electronics.

Overall look at the inside

Closeup of the rearmost transformer and the back of the chassis

Closeup of the front, showing some rust on the chassis.

Closeup of the control board