Author Topic: Dell U3014T moving vertical bar  (Read 3427 times)

Offline james_sTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Dell U3014T moving vertical bar
« on: February 11, 2018, 09:44:52 pm »
I'm not a novice when it comes to repairing equipment but I've never seen a symptom quite like this monitor has. It's a Dell 4k monitor which contains a LG LM300WQ6 panel. When powered on there is a slightly flickering white band which slowly scrolls back and forth across the screen. It has one of those annoying capacitive touch button strips that relies on the OSD so I'm not entirely sure what mode it's in but the buttons do seem to respond and occasionally the picture changes to a narrower band down the right-most edge, I assume that's where the OSD appears. Looking inside I see no obvious faults, voltages look reasonable everywhere I checked, unlike the other monitors I have it uses two LVDS cables between the interface and T-con boards so I can't do any swapping for testing purposes. I did some searching and came across a couple of posts from people with exactly the same symptom but no indication of a solution being found.

Any opinions on this? I suspect it's either a bad T-con board or a bad interface board, the former seems to be reasonably available but I don't want to throw money at it without having a reasonable idea of where the fault lies. Looks like a nice monitor if I can get it working.

The following users thanked this post: gjvc

Offline KhronX

• Frequent Contributor
    • Khron's Cave - Electronics Blog
Re: Dell U3014T moving vertical bar
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2018, 01:03:20 am »
Could that white bar be a "stretched" no-signal prompt? Kinda looks like the rows aren't being driven, for whatever reason.
Khron's Cave - Electronics - Audio - Teardowns - Mods - Repairs - Projects - Music - Rants - Shenanigans

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2018, 01:08:10 am »