Author Topic: Digimess 3040 PSU  (Read 1750 times)

Offline Andy peaceTopic starter

Digimess 3040 PSU
« on: June 10, 2016, 12:48:45 pm »
Hi guys.
I thought I would ask for some help here.
I have a nice Digimess 3040 psu. Although I've had it for four years I have NEVER used it until the other day when I went yo use it! .
well it all powers up fine but the voltage does not stabilise ?
It jumps about up and down and does not fix?
I'm not sure why this has happen but clearly it did not like not being used??
Any ideas please?
Many thanks
Andy

Offline CJay

• Super Contributor
Re: Digimess 3040 PSU
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2016, 01:39:16 pm »
Forgive me but I've no idea how much experience you have so:

Be careful, that PSU will have deadly high voltage DC present when plugged in and also possibly for some time after it's switched off.

Depending how it's been stored I suppose it could be tarnished contacts on a control or a dried out capacitor somewhere.

There's a thread here with schematics and information for one of these that's 'blown up' but that's not the problem you're having.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/repair/am3040-repairteardown-and-a-few-questions-on-smps's/

First thing to check on any switcher is the small value electrolytic capacitors and high value resistors as well as looking for any sign of scorching on the boards and components.

Did you buy it new, second hand, spares repair? Would the previous owner be able to confirm it was working before they sold it to you?

Offline raz221

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2016, 01:40:37 pm »
Hey Andy, and welcome to the forum!
Anyhow, there is clearly something not working properly inside the unit.
Probably a resistor, capacitor or diode. In order to properly troubleshoot it, you'd have to open it.
You'd also need a multimeter, a capacitance meter a capacitor discharge tool, a soldering iron and knowing how to use all of em accordingly.