Author Topic: Dynamco 71 Series Oscilloscope Help  (Read 1403 times)

Offline CalabreseTopic starter

• Contributor
Dynamco 71 Series Oscilloscope Help
« on: October 24, 2017, 05:17:30 pm »
I picked up a Dynamco oscilloscope a while back for $5. This has the 7110 display, 1Y2 amplifier and a 1X1 timebase. I would like to plug it in and see if it works but a few things concern me. I am an amateur when it comes to electronics. I'm still learning so I don't want to risk any shocks or fires. I know this is a UK scope but this one has a US plug on it. I am in the US. I'm confused as to if it was modified or just sold in the US also. I know at the very least I need to clean out the dust. Any advice on whether I should even try plugging this in or if it might have been modified would be greatly appreciated.
« Last Edit: October 24, 2017, 05:19:41 pm by Calabrese »

Offline Armadillo

• Super Contributor
Re: Dynamco 71 Series Oscilloscope Help
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2017, 05:32:04 pm »
Check that there is continuity of the Earth with the metal enclosure.
Measure with a ohm meter that the live and the neutral is not shorted [depending on the watts of the equipment, say above 10 ohms]. Make sure you switch the unit to the On side while measuring the resistance.
To be on the sure side, use a incandescent lamp in series to turn the unit on. If there is no short circuit, then you can plug the power direct without the lamp, after that.
Also use a isolating transformer if you have one. Not a variac.

If you can, open up the unit for a casual visual inspection if anything is missing or obvious hazardous situation that do not justify it to be plug, example missing circuit board.. etc...

Hope it provides some insights to you.   :)
« Last Edit: October 24, 2017, 05:35:16 pm by Armadillo »

The following users thanked this post: Calabrese

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2017, 06:34:16 pm »