Author Topic: Failure mode of LCD segments?  (Read 3637 times)

Offline BurningTantalumTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Failure mode of LCD segments?
« on: June 01, 2016, 02:38:15 am »
I have a set of electronic scales for repair- they are for calibrating the output from a farm air-seeder, but are really little more than glorified bathroom scales.
The display is a 6 (or 5 1/2) digit LCD display with one small text of 'Zero' to indicate when the load cell is within a zero band.
All of the 7-segment characters have the 'e' and 'c' segments missing.
The LCD has 20 x 0.1" pitch lead-outs from 'clips' that contact the deposited conductive tracks. These clips are sealed under some type of clear compound.
I have very little experience with LCD displays other than the usual cleaning and re-seating of zebra strips.
Is this failure indicative of a display failure or a drive circuit failure? The driver is a uPD7225.
I dived in with a scope, with happy memories of multiplexed LED 7-segment displays, and was a bit baffled by the stepped waveforms that I found.
I got an informative document- EFM32 LCD Driver - AN0057 - Application Note - Silicon Labs - which was very enlightening, but before I go further I wonder if anyone has any guidance as to the best way to approach this.
I don't suppose that I will find a replacement LCD, but the drive IC is available.
Regards, BT

Offline Ian.M

• Super Contributor
Re: Failure mode of LCD segments?
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2016, 04:55:53 pm »
Cut and patch tracks to swap a good segment for one of the bad ones.  The result would be scrambled numbers, but if the faulty segment doesn't move, its bad LCD glass (or an O/C connection to it).  If the fault moves to the new segment its a bad driver (or a bad connection to it).

Offline edavid

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2016, 05:23:45 pm »