Author Topic: Faulty mains main breaker  (Read 3781 times)

Offline chipwitchTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
  • I barely know you!
Faulty mains main breaker
« on: December 11, 2017, 03:31:56 am »
I know this isn't quite an electronics question but I know someone here will have some ideas about this problem.

I was an electrician for 20 years or so and have never seen anything like this.  Is there ANY way one could wire something on a branch circuit that would cause a 225A main breaker to lose one leg???  I'm stumped.  Here's what happened:

I ran a circuit from the main panel to a small sub-panel for a 2HP table saw (50 ft run, 10/3).  The circuit was protected by a 2 pole 30A.  The saw, at the sub-panel was also protected by a 2 pole 30A.  Simple stuff.  Table saw is equipped with a 2 pole starter (contactor).  It had not been run for 5 years or so.  Anyway, I hit the start button and the saw started and instantly quit as if it tripped a breaker.  None of the breakers were tripped.  I pulled out my VOM and discovered I only had one hot leg and traced it all the way back to the main breaker.  The breaker is only about 17 years old, physically in great shape, a Cuttler Hammer (Eaton) and has not been abused in any way.  After removing the main breaker from the panel, I tested for continuity.  It has definitely lost a leg.  Only one pole registers continuity.  Switch feels fine, engages and disengages as expected.  I tripped it on and off many times.  No change.

I am very skeptical about coincidences... but I KNOW the breaker worked before connecting the saw (otherwise the contactor wouldn't have engaged) and I KNOW the breaker stopped working after the brief time the saw was on.  Any thoughts?  I'm mystified.
hello?.... <screech>.... is this thing on?

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor
Re: Faulty mains main breaker
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2017, 04:42:29 am »