Author Topic: Fractal Design 1000W Platinum PSU (not starting)  (Read 7863 times)

Offline KingArthurTopic starter

Fractal Design 1000W Platinum PSU (not starting)
« on: September 26, 2015, 10:29:05 am »
Hello everyone! I have a problem with this PSU, it's quite new and it has no bulging caps.
The problem is that the PSU won't start at all and i'm getting no voltages (12v, 3.3v) when trying to start it. The unit simply does nothing at all. The only voltage that's working is the 5v standby which is rock stable.
As I am not an expert on the subject of repairing things i'm asking you people to help me get to the root of the problem. I've already measured most of the primary and secondary capacitors which all measured just fine.

Where should I start probing?

« Last Edit: September 26, 2015, 10:33:53 am by KingArthur »

Offline Pillager

• Supporter
Re: Fractal Design 1000W Platinum PSU (not starting)
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2015, 11:23:59 am »
Just checking: Since it's a PC-PSU, I asume you jumpered the appropriate pin at the connector?
Greets

Tom

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2015, 12:11:20 pm »
Just checking: Since it's a PC-PSU, I asume you jumpered the appropriate pin at the connector?
Yes, i'm an experienced computer technician so I jumped the correct wire  :P
I even tried it with a motherboard, as I said; 5v standby working fine. So that means usb power, motherboard led etc.....

Online amyk

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2015, 01:39:13 pm »
Those heatsinks and transformer look really small for a 1kW PSU... anyway, first determine the controller IC and you'll likely be able to find a reference schematic to start troubleshoting.

Offline singapol

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2015, 05:19:08 pm »
To be honest if you can repair this, you are either a genius or very lucky. :)

Here are more pictures (actually a review of this power supply):

http://www.jonnyguru.com/modules.php?name=NDReviews&op=Story5&reid=339