Author Topic: Gould OS255 Oscilloscope  (Read 10228 times)

Offline NizWizTopic starter

Gould OS255 Oscilloscope
« on: August 26, 2014, 08:46:27 pm »
Hi

I have just started to learn how to use an oscilloscope but unfortunatly i think the trigger might be shot.  :-BROKE I have read the manual tried turning every knob and pushing every button but nothing seems to work. I am feeding a 1khz sine wave from my computer (I don´t have a signal gen) to it but it just don´t want to trigger.  |O Fortunatly i know here is many brilliant minds on this forum so i hope we can solve this. And yes i have the full schematics for the scope :)

Im kind of new to reparing electrical things but maybe this can turn into a nice repair project :)

I will post a link to youtube with a short film of the problem. http://youtu.be/luHqqQWowvs

//NizWiz

Online tautech

• Super Contributor
  • Taupaki Technologies Ltd. Siglent Distributor NZ.
    • Taupaki Technologies Ltd.
Re: Gould OS255 Oscilloscope
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2014, 08:50:24 pm »
Avid Rabid Hobbyist
Siglent Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/@SiglentVideo/videos

« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2014, 08:56:28 pm »
Thanks that seems to be a verry helpful pdf. I will try and take a look at it tomorrow.

Offline ryanmoore

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2014, 10:51:29 am »
My Gould 1425 had the same problem and it turned out to be the trigger level pot itself. See if you can measure the resistance of the pot from the rear of the board it's mounted on - this was a nightmare on the 1425 as there's a digital board in the way, but the 255 probably doesn't have that.

« Reply #4 on: September 01, 2014, 08:27:09 pm »
Now i have conducted some fault finding and i have 2 possible faults.

1. There is a voltage drop but that could be supposed to be that way. The manual says +11v DC (I have checked it and it is correct.) then it goes through a resistor and drops to ca 7v DC but the manual says +11v DEC? What does DEC mean?