Author Topic: HeathKit Oscilloscope Repair  (Read 1901 times)

Offline CrowdedOuthouseTopic starter

HeathKit Oscilloscope Repair
« on: April 10, 2017, 05:14:25 am »
I recently came across an old HeathKit Oscilloscope (Model OR-1) from my local university.

It works a little bit, but is pretty finicky.

I'm pretty new to the whole restoration and repair thing, so I have some questions.

1. Recapping is pretty much the first thing to do, right? Should I only replace Electrolytic Caps?

2. Is it necessary to replace every electrolytic capacitors? Is there a way for me to know which ones to replace?

3. How close in value do I have to keep the power supply caps?  Is increasing the value from, say .01uf to .03uf a bad thing to do? And with Voltage Rating should I try and increase it or keep it the same?

4. How should I deal with the multi-capacitor towers? There are a few in there.

Here  is the schematic for reference
 http://www.vintage-radio.info/download.php?id=392

Here are some Pictures if they help
http://s430.photobucket.com/user/mrvicfischer/library/Oscilloscope

Any input is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!  :)

Offline Paul Moir

• Frequent Contributor
Re: HeathKit Oscilloscope Repair
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2017, 06:53:51 am »
1.  Electrolytic and paper capacitors.  Anything with wax on it, or that black plastic one in your picture.  The electrolytics contain a liquid which is either dried out or almost dried out by now, while the paper dielectric has absorbed moisture and become leaky.  Ceramics and Mica will be fine.  Paper can be replaced with superior poly propylene or polyester.
2.  No, but the few survivors won't have much juice left in them.  It's a choice.  Know by checking the ESR (equivalent series resistance) or dissipation factor.  You can get dedicated ESR meters or use the ESR function on a LCR meter like a DE-5000.  Capacitance meters are kind of useless here:  the measured capacitance tends to increase as they dry out.