Author Topic: Help, another Tektronix 2225 faulty scope  (Read 3506 times)

Offline ParsonsUnknownTopic starter

• Contributor
Help, another Tektronix 2225 faulty scope
« on: September 15, 2017, 01:12:25 pm »
Hello, I'm a total newbie with scopes, I've had this Tektronix 2225 for about 8 years and didn't fancy tackling it

Now I'm feeling a bit more confident and up for the challenge to get this beauty up and running, so I can put her into service in my shack

Problem seems to be with the horizontal, any traces from a signal in or the test point seem to show on the right side of the CRT

I've taken a few videos to explain further, because I'm not always that great at explaining things

If anyone can give me a few pointers in the right direction, I would greatly appreciate it

Trevor

[url=http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/59bbd18be5aaf/MOV_0303_002.mp4]http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/59bbd18be5aaf/MOV_0303_002.mp4
[/URL]http://cloud.tapatalk.com/s/59bbd198eadd3/MOV_0305_001.mp4

Sent from my F3311 using Tapatalk

« Last Edit: September 15, 2017, 01:46:32 pm by ParsonsUnknown »

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor
Re: Help, another Tektronix 2225 faulty scope
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2017, 02:23:41 pm »
I can't look at the video unfortunately here but this is usually one of the deflection wires has come off the CRT or one of the load resistors has burned on the relevant amplifier.

First step is crack it open and take a look. The CRT will have holes with two wires in each for the horizontal and vertical. Check them. Then look for burned resistors where they are connected to the board.

Offline David Hess

• Super Contributor
  • DavidH
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2017, 03:33:50 pm »
For simplicity, leave the horizontal mode at x1 for now.

What does the horizontal position control do?

Possibilities:

1. Beam finder stuck on?
2. A lead may have fallen off of the horizontal deflection plate pins on the neck of the CRT.  These are located along the bottom of the CRT.