Author Topic: Help identifying suitable replacement resistor. Kitchenaid K45 Stand Mixer  (Read 6601 times)

Offline hdunnicliffeTopic starter

First off, I'm a complete beginner when it comes to electronics and posting on forums. So please be gentle.

I'm attempting to restore a Hobart Kitchenaid Stand Mixer (Model K45). This a pre-solid state version, which has a different speed control setup.
As well as a physical restoration (Cleaning, painting etc) and want to convert the unit to run on UK mains power (They only made a US version of this model). I've replaced the motor parts with one suitable for our mains voltage/frequency and this is working well. However, the speed control circuit is giving me some trouble.

The speed control on this model is very simple and is achieved by switching the motor between running directly on the AC line voltage or through a resistor. This video helped me understand how it works
I'm struggling to find much about this resistor but I'm assuming it will only be rated for US mains and I'll need to replace it with one suitable for UK mains.

What I know about the Resistor so far
Name: INDUCTIVE WIRE WOUND FIXED RESISTOR
Part Number: B-89760-1
Rating: 180ohm with centre tapped wire. (Confirmed by myself using a meter, out of circuit)

What I've tried so far
I bought two of these https://www.rapidonline.com/Catalogue/Product/62-0178
I wired them in series to create a 200ohm resistor with a centre tapped wire and I confirmed the resistance measure correctly before installing.
However, when I ran the motor it did not perform as expected and when I retested the resistor they now show as open/the two leads of the resistor are not conected (sorry, not sure what the correct term is here).

So the question is, does anyone know of a suitable replacement part? Or what rating I need for a replacement?

P.S.
I don't expect to find a resistor which is physically compatible. I'll make what I find fit.