Author Topic: Help please: VFD rejuvenation - I am on the right track?  (Read 5928 times)

Offline EL KabongTopic starter

Help please: VFD rejuvenation - I am on the right track?
« on: June 11, 2017, 07:38:23 pm »
I have a pair of late 90's desktop microcomponents from JVC, together they were sold as "JVC CA-EX70". Nothing too special about them but the amplifier is quite good for my home office as it can handle 6 ohm speakers and has a subwoofer output and the CD changer still works. These were used on and off by various members of my family then were left to sit for a long time (perhaps two years).

So the VFD is very dim on both of these, unreadable now in daylight (can really only be seen in a dark room). I've plgged them in just now to leave them on and see if it improves but I know they were quite dim before being stored.

I found the service manual on electrotanya (https://elektrotanya.com/jvc_ca-ex70_ca-ex70r.pdf/download.html) but I'm a novice at electronics (I've built a couple of projects around Arduino and some simple kits but I am still learning). So I thought I should post here and ask before I blow something up, as the displays for these are listed as "special order" at around $70 USD each and I can get a nice old used integrated amp or receiver with similar power for not much more than the pair of the displays (though it would be a full size component and not have a remote).

I do have access to a benchtop power supply that can do constant current/constant voltage and a benchtop meter.

After searching and reading posts here I think what I need to do is to follow the instructions posted here: https://xdevs.com/fix/kei2000/#vfd_rejuv