Author Topic: Nixie Cathode Short  (Read 1877 times)

Offline CyberdragonTopic starter

• Super Contributor
Nixie Cathode Short
« on: February 03, 2018, 12:53:46 am »
I have a B-5750 with a partial 0 to 2 short. One digit always lights brighter though. I've tried flicking it hard in all directions with no effect. |O From what I've read, I could smack it really hard but risk breaking it, or I could run high current through it and risk it burning out. It seems more like a whisker/debris given the difference in brightness. Given that it's still technically readable (although hard), I don't want to do anything too risky.

Any ideas?
*BZZZZZZAAAAAP*
Voltamort strikes again!
Explodingus - someone who frequently causes accidental explosions

Offline davy peleman

• Regular Contributor
Re: Nixie Cathode Short
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2018, 11:46:10 am »
i'm learning tubes at the moment. so i'm interested; maybe some kind of shaker table. just thinking loud i'm a newbie so i appologize if i don't understand the problem; are there metal pieces that make a bridge or are the anode and cathode lightly touching. the term whisker/ debris is unknown to me

Offline andy2000

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2018, 05:24:20 pm »
Assuming you're sure it's not the driver circuit, I think the only chance is to try applying a voltage between the two shorted electrodes.  The problem is, it seems to be high impedance leakage rather than a direct short.  If it was a vacuum tube, you might be able to burn it off with a high voltage, but that obviously won't work here. 

Offline SaabFAN

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2018, 05:48:52 pm »
I've tried the high current-method with a nixie. It resulted in one of the digits failing completely. Depending on the use, this might not be a problem. In my case "8" isn't lighting up anymore, but as only 3 digits in a clock go beyond 5, that's no problem for me.

Offline SeanB

• Super Contributor