Author Topic: Help repairing a Textronix 465 scope  (Read 3413 times)

Offline rt160001Topic starter

Help repairing a Textronix 465 scope
« on: January 09, 2014, 04:27:08 pm »
This is my first post to this forum so a big HELLO to all. I'm a long time tech looking for some help on a tektronix 465 scope as it is kicking my butt. This is my first scope repair. The visual symptom is no horizontal trace. The horizontal position needs to be full left in order to see the dot on the screen and can't be centered. The A channel position appears ok, trace moves from top to bottom of display. The B channel will not go above the center line and as you move though the volts\div the dot zips off screen in some positions and zips back in other positions. A signal applied to A or B results in vertical deflection. In X/Y position a signal applied to A results in horizontal deflection and B vertical. The power supply rails are ok. I do not have any signals from the sweep generators, and it appears that the 55volt supply breaks out into DCPL-A, and DCPL-B and both are being pulled down, .093 and .3 respectively. According to the schematic these should be appox 12.3 volts seen at J1 pin 3 (A channel) and J2 pin 3 (B channel). I feel I'm chasing my tail so any help is greatly appreciated.

Offline PaulAm

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Help repairing a Textronix 465 scope
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2014, 05:49:31 pm »
Was this scope working before, or did you get it in the current condition?

Have you measured the PS ripple?  What are the actual PS voltages?  Measure the ripple, not just the supply voltages.  A common failure is open filter caps and large amounts of ripple mess everything up.  It should be in the mv range.

In X/Y with no input, can you position the beam anywhere on the screen using the positioning controls?  If the answer is no, that gives you a clue on what to focus on.