Author Topic: How do you ground ESD mat?  (Read 2735 times)

Offline tkamiyaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
How do you ground ESD mat?
« on: September 12, 2018, 06:55:20 pm »
I bought an ESD mat.  It has a grommet to attach a ground wire.

How do you do this?  Is there an industry standard?

I am an electrician, so I should know and I do.  But what is electrically approved per code doesn't make sense for type of equipment involved.  The code says ground should enter a dwelling from one and only one place.  That means service entrance.  So I can wire ground to the prong of American standard outlet.  BUT, ground wire goes all the way back to breaker box and then back to the main feed to a service entrance, then FINALLY to the ground rods.  That's pretty high impedance.  It's also possible to pickup hum this way. 

I can actually ground fright outside the window.  It will be a short path, and that ground is BONDED to the main ground outside.  But, if I do, if there are any current on ground (which it shouldn't but....) it will create a voltage differential and then ground loop.  Also, this is against the code.

There must be an industrial standard in electronics industry.  Does anyone know?

Offline DaJMasta

• Super Contributor
    • medpants.com
Re: How do you ground ESD mat?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2018, 07:08:19 pm »
ESD mats don't mind a high impedance path, you're not looking for a very conductive mat or everything you put on it gets shorted.  Grounding directly to the outlet ground is acceptable.

http://documents.desco.com/pdf/tb-2000.pdf

The following users thanked this post: JugglingElectrons

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2018, 07:34:30 pm »
Thank you.  That's what I'll do.  Just connect to the center screw of an outlet.  You are right - it's not very conductive.

Offline Synthtech

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2018, 08:44:21 pm »