Author Topic: How does NAD protection circuit works?  (Read 8504 times)

Offline cs.dkTopic starter

• Supporter
How does NAD protection circuit works?
« on: July 16, 2017, 10:29:36 am »
Hi,
I've got a NAD 317 bridged with a NAD 214 - When powering on, the 317 sometimes turn the protection LED off as usual. Sometimes it can stay lid for 1-10 minuttes.
I have the service manual (attached), but they don't tell much about how it works.

Can someone help me out? :-+

NAD 317 Service Manual

Offline pknoe3lh

• Regular Contributor
  • Trust me I'm an engineer
    • My Homepage
Re: How does NAD protection circuit works?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2017, 11:09:59 am »
I would look for cooled solder points in the location attached ;-)

Also TH101 and TH102 could make problems (right upper corner in the Power Amplifier schematic)

be careful with the high voltage!  :-+

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2017, 12:15:53 pm »
Thanks a lot.
Just corious. How do you spot those two places as being the trouble?

High voltage? I suppose the amp runs under +/- 50VDC?

Offline mzacharias

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2017, 12:24:21 pm »
Check / replace C226, 1uF at 100V. This cap, along with diode D211, provides a sharp cut-off when the amp is powered down, so there are no pops through the speaker. NAD notoriously used cheap caps, and when this one dries out the amp may take a long time to come out of protection - or not come out of protect at all.

• Supporter
« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2017, 01:00:11 pm »
Thanks a lot.
Really much knowledge in here :-+

For the cap, i don't think it's worth to check, i'll order a new.. I guess one of these will fit? tme.eu 1uF 100V electrolytics

Offline mzacharias

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2017, 01:03:39 pm »
Thanks a lot.
Really much knowledge in here :-+

For the cap, i don't think it's worth to check, i'll order a new.. I guess one of these will fit? tme.eu 1uF 100V electrolytics