Author Topic: HP 3476B Multimeter LED Segment fails  (Read 3187 times)

Offline ra-maTopic starter

• Contributor
HP 3476B Multimeter LED Segment fails
« on: January 31, 2018, 07:30:49 pm »
Hello, ich just purchased an used HP 3476B Multimeter. What I already knew is that one segment of an LED digit is failing. If I read the schematic correctly it's segment "e" of digit "4". Unfortunately I'm pretty new in electronics and can't interpret the schematic completely.  :-[

Can anyone give me a hint which transistors/what else to check and how to measure in order to get to the root cause? Un- and re-plugging of the display made no change, it seems it's not an intermittent contact.

Link to complete manual: http://www.hparchive.com/Manuals/HP-3476B-Manual-Operating-Service.pdf

Online The Soulman

• Frequent Contributor
  • The sky is the limit!
Re: HP 3476B Multimeter LED Segment fails
« Reply #1 on: January 31, 2018, 07:50:33 pm »
Yeah that schematic isn't the best when you are new to this, e 4 is correct.
The top row of transistors control the segments of all digits at the same time, the bottom row controls the corresponding digit.
Digits are turned on one at a time, and sequenced (multiplexed) fast enough so it looks like they all are on at the same time.

Given the fact that all other digit are ok it is unlikely that the problem is with the driving circuitry, probably a failed
segment led or a bad solder joint.

The following users thanked this post: ra-ma

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2018, 09:01:34 pm »
Thanks a lot for the easy to understand explanation of the way how the display is driven. As in general the digit 4 and the segment e work a defect in the LED itself seems to be the issue. I resoldered the LED connector on the board but no change. Is there any way to repair a single LED segment?

Here a picture from this thread which I just found. https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/hp-3476a-dmm-repairrefurb/msg626331/#msg626331

Online The Soulman