Author Topic: HP 5248M Nixie Tube Counter - Tubes issues  (Read 5022 times)

Offline ReprobyteTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
HP 5248M Nixie Tube Counter - Tubes issues
« on: June 16, 2018, 12:12:11 am »
Got a HP 5248M Electronic Counter - given a massive clean out first as was kept outside for years in a shed or somewhere I believe

Just managed to bodge myself a power supply to this thing with a homemade AC cord

Issues - it has 8 Nixie tubes, but seems only 6 work, and they seem very blurred, most more than others

If I press reset they seem clearer when reading zero

I'm totally new to HP Nixie tubes, so any advice on them or resources is greatly appreciated! Searching faded Nixie tubes online didnt return what I needed to know

Thanks

Offline PaulAm

• Frequent Contributor
Re: HP 5248M Nixie Tube Counter - Tubes issues
« Reply #1 on: June 16, 2018, 02:20:51 am »
You need to get the service manual on that.

Those displays used cheesy optoisolators which have a tendency to go bad after 40 or 50 years.  Don't go freaking about faded nixies until everything works.  If you had to, you can find replacement nixies without too much trouble, but again that's the last thing to do.

One of the first things would be to check the power supplies to make sure they're working correctly and the caps haven't dried out.  HP used quality parts, but it's not uncommon to have to replace the filter caps on that vintage instrument.  Check the riipple with a scope on all the power rails.

You think they used decade counters and nixie driver ICs?  Ha, wait till you look at the schematic.

Offline particleman

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2018, 03:12:56 am »
The nixies are actually pretty hard to find HP used 1970-0025 which are inverted. evil bay has 3 for $100 right now.
« Last Edit: June 16, 2018, 03:30:29 am by particleman »

Offline Cyberdragon

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: June 16, 2018, 04:05:17 am »