Author Topic: Hp 54501 CRT problem need help  (Read 2475 times)

Offline BrainsysnetTopic starter

Hp 54501 CRT problem need help
« on: September 22, 2017, 06:19:21 pm »
Hi
I am new in this blog 
I going to buy hp 54501A osciloscope  from ebay
But have loo like  crt problem , i am not sure
Can someone  help me  , what is this problem  . You can see the picture

Offline oldway

• Super Contributor
  • !
Re: Hp 54501 CRT problem need help
« Reply #1 on: September 23, 2017, 06:35:43 am »
Hello, welcome to the forum.

No this is not a CRT problem.

This oscilloscope is a digital oscilloscope.
To better understand the complexity of this oscilloscope, here is a video of Dave on the subject.

I strongly advise against buying this oscilloscope, your diagnosis demonstrates for sure that you are not an "expert" in oscilloscopes.

Online vk6zgo

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: September 23, 2017, 10:39:54 am »
Hello, welcome to the forum.

To better understand the complexity of this oscilloscope, here is a video of Dave on the subject.

I strongly advise against buying this oscilloscope, your diagnosis demonstrates for sure that you are not an "expert" in oscilloscopes.

From the pix, it seems to have a CRT tube as a display device.
To me it looks like a raster type display, just because of the appearance of the interference, but I may be wrong, as from memory, most of that style of DSOs used a vector type display.

Offline TK

• Super Contributor
  • I am a Systems Analyst who plays with Electronics
« Reply #3 on: September 23, 2017, 11:58:42 am »
It might just be bad capacitors on the CRT module.  I think the 54501 uses a Hitachi CRT module as in many old HP equipment.  I saw several 54501 scopes on eBay at very low prices that seem to be in better shape.

Offline Retep

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #4 on: September 23, 2017, 12:45:24 pm »