Author Topic: Huntron Tracker 2000 Adjustment  (Read 3295 times)

Offline denimdragonTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • "Hole charge chaser and wanna-be o-scope fixer"
Huntron Tracker 2000 Adjustment
« on: May 27, 2017, 07:31:42 pm »
I got lucky and managed to get this Huntron Tracker 2000, An old Goldstar 9020A 20MHz Oscilloscope, and a tiny TV from the 60's or 70's for 180 bucks! Of course my focus is on the Huntron since I am a rookie to all this EE stuff and I figured it would help me in my learning (I'm currently in school for EE-first year) and also help me make a bit of money on the side by repair things and reselling them on flea... I mean eBay  :-DD

Here's my situation and what I want to do. I know it's a tall order, but with you guys here, I feel invincible  :-/O

First, I need to adjust it so that it's back in tolerance for all the ranges it has. All of them are off. The "LOW" setting is off 5.3% It should be 7.071Vrms and it 6.7 The tolerance in the service manual ±5% so I'm off a bit. I'm not so concerned about that as I am the higher sets, "High" in particular being out by as much as 11% out of tolerance on the low end. Actual reading was 35.9V and it should be 42V.

Now there is another factor involved that could be causing this. The manual says that I need to use a DMM with an input impedance of 10M??, but my rinky-dink Klein MM100 has an input impedance of 1M??. I called myself being smart  ::) and I used a resistance substituter, and set it at 9M?? in an effort to compensate for the different. With that in place, I get a reading of 0  :palm:

When I connect the DMM to the leads directly, I get the 6.7V mentioned. I'm totally at a loss, but then that's part of the learning curve. I'm sure my calculations could be better.