Author Topic: Is repair a Hitachi v1060 worth it?  (Read 2416 times)

Offline RawCodeTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
Is repair a Hitachi v1060 worth it?
« on: July 10, 2018, 03:02:38 pm »
Hi there.
I want to buy an oscilloscope for my summer projects, but a digital one is a bit too expensive for my budget. I found online a hitachi v1060 100MHz analog oscilloscope for 60 euros: the seller says that it turns on, but there is no traces.
I don't get it because in the picture the traces appear. I tried to ask to the seller but he said to me that the scope could be working or faulty |O

Considering the two problems, no trace shown and no signal shown, it could be worth it try? Are these problems easy to fix?
I don't have so much money(i'm a student), i don't want to waste money in something that i can't fix
« Last Edit: July 10, 2018, 03:15:16 pm by RawCode »

Offline bd139

• Super Contributor
Re: Is repair a Hitachi v1060 worth it?
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2018, 03:25:04 pm »
That's a nice scope and a reasonable price if it was working. Teardown here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgear/teardown-hitachi-v1065/

A lot of these issues are user error. I've hauled perfectly good scopes for nothing because the user couldn't work them out. BUT again there are as many dead ones out there.

Scopes are not always easy to fix but there's a good community here who are willing to help you of course.

It's literally half way between easy win and €60 of scrap. Perhaps 80% of the time, skill can move that to the easy win side but you do lose 20% of the time. Depends if you want to take that gamble or not.

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2018, 04:49:58 pm »
Thanks for the reply.
I asked further explainations to the seller. He said that the tracks are visible, but not bright. One of the two tracks is merely visible, but there is a piece of track in the right side(?). I'll attach a photo so you can see.

I think that this unit is almost dead. What do you think?