Author Topic: Is this feasible ? And I apologize for the vagueness.  (Read 10796 times)

Offline HextejasTopic starter

• Frequent Contributor
Is this feasible ? And I apologize for the vagueness.
« on: July 16, 2018, 12:01:39 am »
I am a raw beginner to the electronics world and am studying anything that looks to be worthwhile.
In my closet is a Nad 402 am-fm tuner. Well it dont work and I want to make it work. I thought that it would be a good beginners project.
I checked the minimal stuff that I know how to do. Checked for an open circuit by putting my vom leads on the end of the power cord. Yep, shows as open. The tuner is fused so I tested the 2 fuses and one was burned. If memory serves me, they were 415ma, 250v. They were odd in that they had a small resistor in the fuse. A ham buddy of mine said that they were slow blow. That was the replacement that bought. One capacitor looked odd, kinda swollen so I replaced it. Another site, somewhat kiddingly said that it would be a diode. So I replaced 2 of them. 1N4001 with 1N4007 cause that's all I had.
The tuner was acting very strange. After I replaced the fuse the 1st time, the control panel lit up and I tried to select a station. Poof, lights out and another burned fuse. Replaced the fuse and now it won't even light up.
Its beyond my skills to repair this thing so I want to hire a knowledgeable person to repair it as part of a teaching session with me as the student.

How do I go about doing this ? I am willing to pay $nn per hour to do this, whatever the market deems fair. I have the Nad service manual and it has a schematic so thats a help.

Is this anyway possible.
I live in Houston TX if anybody wants to try it. :=)

Offline james_s

• Super Contributor
Re: Is this feasible ? And I apologize for the vagueness.
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2018, 01:35:27 am »