Author Topic: Keithley 191 Repair Help  (Read 4413 times)

Offline John3354Topic starter

Keithley 191 Repair Help
« on: February 07, 2017, 09:18:43 pm »
First post here.  Noob here setting up an electronics lab for tinkering and I have been picking up a fair amount of kit.  The most recent purchase is a Keithley 191 multimeter that I picked up off eBay for $20.  :)

The seller stated that it only flashed random digits when turned on, but I bought it with the thinking that it could just be noise or at most it could be a switch issue like Dave had in his Keithley 177 repair video.  No such luck so far.  I plugged in a set of leads and shorted them and the digits are still pretty random.  Too much of a swing for just random noise.  So I lubricated the switches hoping that would solve the issue.  No luck there either.  Same issue.

Next I started checking voltages.  I followed the manual here:  https://doc.xdevs.com/doc/Keithley/191/191%20(A%20-%201979)(30183%20Instruction).pdf

+5 and +15 look good, within a tenth or two on voltage.  No issue there.  But -15 fluctuates between -12.75 and -13.  As the manual says it needs to be -15V +-10% that is well out of spec.  What is the next step?  Should I pull the regulator out of the board and test it on the bench?  Or, is there a cap I should be looking at?

Sorry for the basic questions.  I am a bit of a noob, but I thought this would be a good way to learn.  I hope I have not gotten in over my head.

Offline jkf1000

• Regular Contributor
Re: Keithley 191 Repair Help
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2017, 11:02:45 pm »
That voltage definately sounds low, could be the regulators or more likely something pulling the voltage due to loading. Dont forget to check also the voltages before the regulators as you will need a decent overhead as the old regulaters required a good 2 to 3 volts higher to operate reliably. Try isolating circuits one at a time and then recheck your voltages, also check for hotspots.. Karl

Online lowimpedance