Author Topic: Kinda screwed - Lecroy 9324 power supply repair  (Read 4406 times)

Offline ajrabassaTopic starter

• Contributor
Kinda screwed - Lecroy 9324 power supply repair
« on: December 10, 2015, 02:35:00 am »
Hey everyone.

I'm very new to electronics as a hobby - I do a lot of reading and light tinkering, but this is my first foray into trying to do anything for real. Unfortunately, it's not how I planned to start, but here we are.

I just got a Lecroy 9324 that was was for sale as parts only, but was shown working at the time of shipping - no errors, waveform looked good. Just got it in, and it does not appear to turn on. There are no lights or indicators on the front panel to check, but the fans on the case aren't spinning - so I'm hoping it's just the power supply.

I can't find the service manual to start probing around - anyone have any hints? Tried searching and google, no avail.

Things I've checked so far:

On power, no display and no fans spin. A high pitched whine comes out of the power supply. Took the power supply out of the scope and have it powered on my bench. On investigation, the sound is one of two inductors bunched very close together. I can't figure out which one is making the noise. Putting metal in/around the inductor does not change the pitch of the whine, but light pressure on any of the capacitors nearby changes the pitch drastically.

The voltages do not appear okay. The PSU has +/- 5 and 15 volts listed as output (not on any particular pin mind you, just printed on the case) and I'm getting 2.5 and 12 volts with major variance between the pins.

On the AC side, there's even stranger nonsense. I've got three pins: Pin 1, a brown wire and assumed hot; pin 2, blue wire and assumed neutral; pin 3, yellow with green stripe, ground.