Author Topic: laptop toshiba p200D  (Read 9523 times)

Offline freebilTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
laptop toshiba p200D
« on: July 21, 2016, 01:13:01 pm »
Hello. I bought a multimeter and I have a laptop that when I press to start it does not turn on. The blue led shows that there is voltage. Moreover multimeter shows that power supply output has 19.1V. I would like some advice about how to start. I am totally new to this. Here are some photos of the laptop motherboard. The first 4 are from one side and the last from the other side.

« Last Edit: July 21, 2016, 01:23:29 pm by freebil »

Offline singapol

• Frequent Contributor
Re: laptop toshiba p200D
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2016, 12:47:47 am »
UT139C is a good multimeter,congratulations. Power supply at 19 V means power is good. Please check cmos battery voltage, it's the round silver coin disc inside the blue round socket at the left corner near blue led. Is it still 3V or dead/flat? Some system will not start if this battery is dead.
« Last Edit: July 24, 2016, 06:27:00 am by singapol »

Offline amyk

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2016, 10:33:25 am »
That's a Compal board. Googling "Compal JASAA" gets you a schematic.

Offline poot36

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2016, 06:00:21 am »
Good work on eliminating the power supply as the problem.  I would first start by checking that the power switch has voltage.  Put the negative probe on the metal shell of any of the USB connectors and probe all the pins of the power switch with the positive probe with the laptop plugged in.  You should get anywhere from 5V to 1.8V on the switch.  If you do press the switch and see if the reading goes to zero volts.  If it does the switch is good.  Does it charge the battery?  Also unplug everything that you can from the motherboard except for the power jack, power switch, and cpu to eliminate a short in another component.

Offline wblock

• Regular Contributor